Every year Doors Open Lowell provides an inside look to nearly 30 buildings over two days. Look for old favorites this year as well as new additions to the roster of buildings.
This year, 31 buildings will be open on Friday, May 4 from 6 - 9pm and on Saturday, May 5 from 10am - 1pm and from 1pm - 4pm.
Note that all buildings will not be open at all times with different buildings open during each of the Friday and Saturday time periods.
No tickets or pre-registration required. Admission is free. Look for the blue Doors Open Lowell banners identifying participating sites.
The Lowell National Historical Park bus will be providing shuttle service between the Lowell National Historical Park Visitor Center and selected Doors Open Lowell sites on Saturday, May 5 from 10am - 4pm. Shuttle bus stops are indicated on the building map.
The Lowell National Historical Park & Lowell Heritage Partnership's annual historic preservation and cultural heritage awards will take place on Thursday, May 3 from 5:30 - 7:30pm.
The official Doors Open Lowell program guide will appear in the Wednesday, May 2 edition of the Lowell Sun and will also be available at the Lowell National Historical Park Visitor Center on Market Street.
Due to unforeseen circumstances, program is subject to change.
Click HERE to download and print the building roster and schedule.
Click HERE for the building map.
Click HERE to download and print the XTRA schedule.
Friday, May 4
6 to 9 pm
307 Market Street
The Gates Block (1881) is an arts center, home to the Arts League of Lowell, Van Gogh’s Gear Art Supplies, and artist studios.
375 Merrimack Street
Visit Lowell’s impressive Richardsonian Romanesque style City Hall (1893) that is celebrating the 125th anniversary of its dedication and opening this year. Only open by tour at 6, 7, and 8pm. Meet at the entrance at the base of the clocktower. Doors Open XTRA
Yorick Club *New in 2018*
91 Dutton Street
This Italianate style building is one of the few remaining structures built by Lowell's first textile company, the Merrimack Manufacturing Company. Built ca. 1859 to house company executives, it became the Yorick Club in 1901, a private club and restaurant, and today is the home of Cobblestones restaurant.
Moody Street Feeder Gatehouse
Merrimack Street @ Merrimack Canal
Discover how this 1848 gatehouse regulated the flow of water through the underground Moody Street Feeder that connected the Western Canal to the Merrimack Canal.
Lowell Gas Light Company Building
22 Shattuck Street
This elegant Italianate style building (1859) originally housed the offices of the Lowell Gas Light Company and is now home to the law firm of Gallagher and Cavanaugh. Doors Open XTRA
St. Anne’s Church
227 Merrimack Street
This Gothic Revival church (1825) originally provided public worship for the mill girls and is the home of several Tiffany stained glass windows.
Kirk Street Agents House
67 Kirk Street
This Greek Revival style building (1846) housed the agents for both the Boott Cotton Mills and Massachusetts Mills and is now the Lowell National Historical Park’s headquarters.
10 Kearney Square
Visit one of the residential units in the Fairburn Building (ca. 1892) and discover one of the foremost private collections of Lowell patent medicine memorabilia.
Saturday, May 5
10 am – noon
Hamilton Wasteway Gatehouse *New in 2018*
Hamilton Millyard - Jackson Street
Gates were first installed here in 1850 to remove ice from the Hamilton Canal into the lower Pawtucket Canal. Discover the current gatehouse (1872) and plans for its restoration. Doors Open XTRA
Saturday, May 5
10 am – 1 pm
First United Baptist Church
99 Church Street
View the Greek Revival style First United Baptist Church (1826) that was the second church to be founded in Lowell.
35 Warren Street
Now home to UTEC, a nonprofit agency, the Greek Revival style former St. Paul’s Church (1839) is the oldest LEED Platinum certified green building in the world.
St. John’s Church
260 Gorham Street
Discover the architecture and history of this Gothic Revival church (1861) which was the second Episcopal church founded in Lowell.
Counting House Lofts 71
71 Jackson Street
See how the former Mill No. 4 (1845; 1885) in the Hamilton millyard has been converted into residential use by the Winn Companies.
Lowell Community Health Center
101 Jackson Street
Discover the Italianate style Hamilton Mill No. 6 (1881) that has been rehabilitated for the Lowell Community Health Center and learn more about their most recent expansion including new vision and dental centers.
219 Jackson Street
See how Appleton Mills No. 1, 1A, and 4 (1902-1914) have been rehabilitated as artist live-work residences including a soaring interior atrium.
Swamp Locks Gatehouse *New in 2018*
Dutton Street @ Pawtucket Canal
The second of three locking locations on the Pawtucket Canal, this site began operation in 1796 and has seen several reconstructions from 1822 through the 1940s. The current gatehouse is a restoration of one built in 1859.
Pollard Memorial Library
401 Merrimack Street
Visti Lowell's Richardsonian Romanesque Pollard Memorial Library (1893) which is celebrating the 125th anniversary of its dedication and opening this year. Doors Open XTRA
Transfiguration Greek Orthodox Church
25 Fr. John Sarantos Way
Visit this Byzantine-style church (1956-1964) and discover its rich ornamentation including imported ceiling mosaics from Italy, iconography, and stained glass.
Saturday, May 5
Noon- 5 pm
Western Avenue Studios
122 Western Avenue
This complex of mill buildings (1890-1940) was originally home of the Massachusetts Mohair Plush Company. See how portions of the complex have been reused in exciting and creative ways by the artists of Western Avenue Studios during their monthly open studios event. Doors Open XTRA
Saturday, May 5
Noon- 8 pm
Mill No. 5
250 Jackson Street
Appleton Mill No. 5 (1873) has been redeveloped into a blend of artists, independent retail, and performance/theater space with an interior composed of salvaged historic buildings from throughout New England.
Saturday, May 5
1 – 4 pm
Lowell National Historical Park Trolley Barn *New in 2018*
115 John Street
See how this former coal pocket in the Italianate style No. 6 Mill (1871) of the Boott Cotton Mills has been converted into Lowell National Historical Park's trolley storage and maintenance facility.
Tsongas Industrial History Center
115 John Street
Discover this education center operated by the Lowell National Historical Park and UMass-Lowell in No. 6 Mill (1871) of the Boott Cotton Mills and participate in several hand-on educational workshops.
Apartments at Boott Mills
130-141 John Street
The Boott millyard is one of the most historic and architecturally significant millyards in the country, constructed between 1835 and the early 20th century. Visit mill space that has been transformed for residential and commercial use by the Winn Companies.
1 Tremont Place
Located beneath Jeanne D’Arc Credit Union, discover exposed historic subterranean waterpower features that were the site of pioneering turbine experiments undertaken by famed engineer James B. Francis in 1855. Doors Open XTRA
The River Transformed Exhibit
Find out how engineers harnessed the waterpower of the Merrimack River to drive Lowell’s mills.
Frederick Ayer Mansion
357 Pawtucket Street
The former Frederick Ayer mansion (1876) is one of the most ornate buildings in Lowell and also the former home of the Franco-American School. Discover this Second-Empire style masterpiece and plans for its preservation and future reuse.
School Street @ Northern Canal
This gatehouse (1847), the largest on the Lowell canal system, still controls the flow of water into the Northern Canal, and contains much of its original equipment.
Northern Canal Gatekeeper’s House
23 School Street
This Greek Revival/Italianate house (1847) was built by the Locks and Canals Company for the gatekeeper of the Pawtucket Gatehouse. Learn about its preservation through the Department of Conservation and Recreation’s Historic Curatorship Program.
Locks and Canals Blacksmith Shop *New in 2018*
School Street @ Pawtucket Dam
Discover this blacksmith shop (ca. 1887) that was used to straighten iron pins used to keep flashboards in place on the nearby Pawtucket Dam.
383 Pawtucket Street
The Georgian style Spalding House (1761) is the third oldest surviving house in Lowell. Learn about its history and the Lowell Parks & Conservation Trust’s preservation efforts. Doors Open XTRA
Guard Locks and Francis Gate
Broadway Street @ Pawtucket Canal
Explore the Guard Locks complex and chief engineer James B. Francis' "Great Gate," used to protect Lowell from the floodwaters of the Merrimack River.