Built circa 1928
Lowell’s Masonic Temple was built in 1928 on a site that formerly contained corporation housing for the Merrimack Manufacturing Company. Designed in the Neoclassical Revival style, the Dutton Street façade is built of sandstone while the side and rear facades are constructed of yellow brick. A staircase spans the length of the front façade while eight imposing, partially engaged, Doric columns divide this façade into seven bays. The Masonic insignia appears within the recessed arch above the central second floor windows.
Much of the building’s interior design and appearance is based upon Masonic use, symbolism, and function. In addition to several paneled meeting and function rooms, Grecian Hall and Egyptian Hall are two of the more unique and spectacular interior spaces with their revival architectural detailing and features. An unusual and fascinating feature is the lighting scheme in Grecian Hall that portrays day and night skies through special lighting effects.
The Masons moved from their Merrimack Street location at the Hosford Building to this building in 1928 where it has served their needs ever since. Designed exclusively for Masonic use, the building has only been opened for public use in recent years. Among the Masons’ community activities, the building houses their local learning center for children with dyslexia.